Default Interior Header Banner

Executive Board and Staff

To better meet the unique needs of its members, the Empire State School Administrators Association is comprised of regions from across New York State. Each region has an executive cabinet and Regional President who also serves as a Vice President of ESSAA.

Please find more information on each Board Member below. 

Carol Conklin-Spillane

Carol is recognized nationally as a progressive school leader for her achievements in developing school programs and practices that transform teaching and learning and lead to high graduation rates. She has presented on a range of topics for the U.S. Department of Education, The College Board and the American Educational Research Association, among many other organizations. Under her leadership, Sleepy Hollow High School was identified as A Best Practices High School by The Magellan Foundation, was featured on the U.S. Department of Education’s Doing What Works website and was named a Breakthrough High School for 2014 by NASSP/MetLife Foundation.

The recipient of the 2019 Distinguished Service to Education Award by the National Association of Secondary School Principals in recognition of her efforts to significantly improve and strengthen education nationwide, Carol received Pace University’s Partnership Award for her work on behalf of the teaching profession and its Inquiry Leader Award for her role in establishing best practices around inquiry.  Her work has been featured in Principal Leadership Magazine, by ASCD in “Common Core Insider HS Math” and in Releasing Leadership Brilliance:  Breaking Sound Barriers in Education (Corwin Press 2017).

A former superintendent of schools, high school principal and special education teacher, she is now a consultant to New York school districts, specializing in executive coaching and leadership development, inclusive practices, supporting English language learners, building school climate, innovative school scheduling and providing equity and opportunity through open enrollment.


Michael A. Starvaggi, Esq.
Executive Director

P.O. Box 229
Valley Cottage, NY 10989
(845) 589-9456 






John W. Rickert
Capital Area Principals & Administrators Association (CAPSA) President

ESSAA Vice President

1626 Balltown Road
Niskayuna, NY 12309
(518) 382-2511

Albert (Skip) Voorneveld
Council of Administrators & Supervisors - Long Island (CAS) President

ESSAA Executive Vice President

1300 Veterans Highway, Suite 330
Hauppauge, NY 11788
(631) 761-5451



Richard Kimble
Central New York Supervisors & Administrators Association (CNYSAA) President

ESSAA Vice President

11 West Third Street
Corning, NY 14803
(607) 936-3788 x 2807


Anthony Baxter 
Regional Association of Supervisors & Administrators (RASA) President

ESSAA Vice President

210 North Broadway
Sleepy Hollow, NY 10591
(914) 631-8838

Brian P. Farrell
Western New York Administrators Association (WNYAA) President

ESSAA Vice President

5935 Baer Road
Sanborn, NY 14132
(716) 210-2321 

 Grenardo L. Avellino
Vice President for Government Relations

6400 Fremont Road
East Syracuse, NY 13057
(315) 434-3320

Shelley Baldwin-Nye
Vice-President for Professional Development

961 Riverview Road
Rexford, NY 12148


Steven Boynton
Regional Coordinator

1445 The Plaza
Schenectady, NY 12308

 Shireen Fasciglione
Vice-President for Professional Development

1100 Cornelius Avenue
Niskayuna, NY 12309

Zbynek Gold

PO Box 373
Lincolndale, NY 10540


Anthony Laurino
Legislative Liaison/PAC Coordinator




Paul Scampini
Director of Educational Policy/Liaison to SED



Robert Unger



Celia Strino
Director of Information Resources


Bonnie Berry 

Director of Communications






Back to top